fbpx
English
You are here:Home»Discover Cyprus»Culture & Religion»Sites & Monuments»Omeriye Mosque
Omeriye Mosque
Omeriye Mosque

The Omeriye Mosque was once the medieval Augustinian monastery of St. Marie, built in the 14th century, and one of the three largest monasteries in the city during the Lusignan era. It originally covered an area of six acres, which included gardens, orchards, a field of wheat and barley, and a sugar plantation.

In 1571, the monastery was converted to a mosque by Lala Mustafa Pasha - the Ottoman conqueror of the island - who believed that the original church was built on the spot where the Caliph Omer rested when visiting Lefkosia. Most of the original building was destroyed by Turkish artillery in 1570, and inscribed tombstones from the Lusignan period were used to install a new floor for the mosque.

Visitors can also see the remains of a late Venetian building near the eastern side of the mosque.

Omeriye Mosque - Audio Guide 

Region: Lefkosia (Nicosia)
Address: Trikoupi & Plateia Tyllirias
GPS coordinates: Lat: 35.172071 Lon: 33.365536
Operating Hours: Any reasonable hour providing there is no prayer.
Operating Period: All year round.
Closed on Public Holidays.
Entrance Fee: Free
  Opening and closing times as well as entrance fees, are subject to alterations without notice. Visitors are advised to check before visiting.
 

Audio Guides

Related Articles