You are here:Home»Discover Cyprus»Nature»Cycling»Lefkosia 3 - Lefkosia (Nicosia) - Aderfoi Forest - Asinou Cycling Route
Lefkosia 3 - Lefkosia (Nicosia) - Aderfoi Forest - Asinou Cycling Route
Lefkosia 3 - Lefkosia (Nicosia) - Aderfoi Forest - Asinou Cycling Route
The route’s starting point is the junction on the outskirts of Lakatameia near the “Metro” supermarket. The route heads west for about half a kilometre before it reaches the Lakatameia bicycle path on the banks of the Pediaios riverbed. The bicycle path ends south on Agios Georgios street, where it turns right and west reaching the traffic lights on the Lefkosia-Palaichori road. Almost exactly opposite the traffic lights lies the road that leads to the village of Agioi Trimithias and then towards Palaiometocho and Meniko. From Meniko the route follows the road to the village of Kato Moni. From there Mitsero quarry is visible to the southeast and the Troodos mountains to the southwest.

From Kato Moni the route heads north on the Platanistasa road. It climbs for a short distance then turns right towards the village of Agia Marina. From Agia Marina it passes through the village of Agios Georgios, and past the Kapoura picnic site and the villages of Kannavia and Spilia.

There is a road at the entrance of Spilia and to the right that leads to Agios Theodoros. From there the road takes you to the main road from Troodos to Lefkosia where you head north towards Koutrafas and Nikitari village before you reach Panagia tis Asinou.

Difficulty rate: A difficult course with an average gradient of 2% but not greater than 5%.The course requires road bike with 20 speeds.
Road condition: The entire route is on paved roads.
Route Description: This excursion takes cyclists from the outskirts of Lefkosia to the forest of Adelfoi and past the early Byzantine church of Panagia Forviotissa (Asinou).

To download the route in gpx format click here

Distance: 85.9km
Elevation Gain: 2058m
Highest point: 1154m
Lowest point: 176m
Loop: NO
Terrain: Mountain
Road surface: Paved

  Section Distance (km) Total Distance (km)
Lakatamia 0,0 0,0
Agioi Trimithias 11,7 11,7
Palaiometocho 3,9 15,6
Meniko 5,6 21,2
Agioi Iliofotoi 5,5 26,7
Kato Moni 2,6 29,3
Agia Marina Xyliatou 3,9 33,2
Xyliatos 3,0 36,2
Agios Georgios 4,6 40,8
Kapouras 3,6 44,4
Kannavia 3,7 48,1
Agia Eirini 1,1 49,2
Spilia 4,8 54,0
Kourdali 1,6 55,6
Agios Theodoros Soleas 10,4 66,0
Kato Koutrafas 11,4 77,4
Nikitari 4,8 82,2
Panagia tis Asinou 3,7 85,9