You are here:Home»Discover Cyprus»Nature»Cycling»Main 3 - Lefkosia (Nicosia) - Solea Valley Cycling Route
Main 3 - Lefkosia (Nicosia) - Solea Valley Cycling Route
Main 3 - Lefkosia (Nicosia) - Solea Valley Cycling Route
The route starts from Lefkosia (Agioi Trimithias) and follows the road to Agia Marina, passes by the Xyliatos Dam before it reaches the villages of Saranti and Spilia, from where it takes the alternative route towards Agios Theodoros. 

At Agios Theodoros the route crosses the main Lefkosia -Troodos road and reaches Kato Flasou where it begins to climb southwards going alongside the Karkotis river, and passing through the villages of Evrychou, Tembria, Kaliana, Galata and Kakopetria. 

Keeping on the Kakopetria - Prodromos road, the road starts to climb towards the Agios Nikolaos tis Stegis monastery until it reaches Prodromos where it takes a turning to the right leading to the area Marathasa and the villages of Pedoulas, Moutoullas,Kalopanagiotis and Oikos.

The Pedoulas - Linou road crosses the main Lefkosia-Troodos road and then heads in a northeasterly direction to the village of Koutrafas situated on the banks of the Elia river. The road then climbs towards the villages of Nikitari and Vyzakia, where it follows the same route back to Lefkosia via Agia Marina Xyliatou, Kato Moni, Meniko and Palaiometocho, ending up at the Agioi Trimithias.

An alternative route to the Koutrafas-Nikitari route, is to return to Lefkosia on the main Lefkosia -Troodos road where you can expect more traffic.

Road condition: The route is totally on paved roads.
Route Description: This excursion will take you through the Solea Valley with its traditional architecture and its picturesque Byzantine churches, some of which are on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

To download the route in gpx format click here

Distance: 156.4km
Elevation Gain: 4611m
Highest point: 1338m
Lowest point: 176m
Loop: YES
Terrain: Mountain
Road surface: Paved

  Section Distance (km) Total Distance (km)
Agioi Trimithias 0,0 0,0
Palaiometocho 4,0 4,0
Meniko 5,6 9,6
Agioi Iliofotoi 5,5 15,1
Kato Moni 2,5 17,6
Agia Marina Xyliatou 4,5 22,1
Xyliatos 8,0 30,1
Saranti 9,9 40,0
Spilia 6,8 46,8
Kourdali 1,5 48,3
Agios Theodoros Soleas 10,4 58,7
Evrychou 5,1 63,8
Temvria 2,5 66,3
Galata 3,9 70,2
Kakopetria 1,5 71,7
Agios Nikolaos tis Stegis 4,5 76,2
Pedoulas 13,0 89,2
Moutoulas 5,2 94,4
Kalopanagiotis 1,6 96,0
Oikos 2,1 98,1
Agios Epifanios 11,3 109,4
Katydata 1,6 111,0
Kato Koutrafas 10,4 121,4
Nikitari 4,8 126,2
Vyzakia 2,4 128,6
Agia Marina Xyliatou 5,8 134,4
Kato Moni 4,5 138,9
Meniko 8,0 146,9
Palaiometocho 5,6 152,5
Agioi Trimithias 3,9 156,4