Вы здесь:Домашняя»События»Douce France - CySO
Douce France - CySO

Lefkosia: Thursday 8 April 2021
Pallas Theatre, Pafos Gate, 20:30
Pafos: Friday 9 April 2021
Markideio Municipal Theatre, 20:30

In this concert, the CySO will perform French music from different periods as well as music with a French influence, beginning with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony no. 31 in D major, the famous ‘Paris’ Symphony. Written during a stay of Mozart in Paris in 1778, the composer availed himself of the orchestral forces available at the time in Paris, and was his first symphony to include clarinets, an instrument that has since become particularly associated with France.
Although Swiss by nationality, Arthur Honeggerspent a large part of his working life in France and was a member of ‘Les Six’, the name given to the group of composers who worked in the Montparnasse area of Paris and were particularly championed by Jean Cocteau in the 1920s. Honegger’s ‘Pastorale d’été’ dates from 1921, when it was premiered at Salle Gaveau, and is a mellow symphonic poem for smaller orchestra inspired by summertime in the villages of the Swiss Alps; the score is prefaced with a quote from Rimbaud: ‘J’ai embrassé l’aube d’été’ (I embrased the summer dawn).
The main work on the programme is Charles Gounod’s Symphony no.1. Though most known for his operatic and religious music, Gounod was also an influential mentor to the younger generation of French composers of the second half of the 19thth century including Saint-Saëns, Massenet, and Bizet. His 1st Symphony from 1855 shows the influence of the German classical symphonic tradition, particularly Mendelssohn and Beethoven on this quintessentially French composer.
In addition to the ‘French’ works on the programme, we continue our highlighting of the musicians of the CySO as soloists with our clarinettist Angelos Angelides featuring in Carl Maria von Weber’s Concertino for clarinet.
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony no.31, K.297 (Paris)
Arthur Honegger: Pastorale d'été (Summer pastoral), H. 31   
Carl Maria von Weber: Concertino for clarinet in E flat major, op. 26
Charles Gounod: Symphony no.1 in D major
SoloistAngelos Angelides (clarinet)
Conductor: Patrick Gallois
With the support of the French Institute of Cyprus
Within the framework of Francophone season
Supporter: Pafos Municipality

Ticket prices: €12, €7 (18-26 yrs, pensioners), €5 (under 18)

Ticket presales:

  • Οnline at cyso.interticket.com
  • For the concert in Lefkosia, tickets are also available at the Pallas Theatre Box Office every Wednesday 16:00-19:00.
  • Τickets will not be available at the theatre box offices on the concert day.

Pallas Theatre, Pafos Gate (Rigainis and Arsinois corner, 1010 Lefkosia, 22 410181)
Markideio Municipal Theatre (Andrea Geroudi 27, 8010 Pafos,26 22228)
For more information you may contact Constantia Elia at 22 463135, email: Адрес электронной почты защищен от спам-ботов. Для просмотра адреса в вашем браузере должен быть включен Javascript.

Четверг, Апрель 08, 2021, 20:30
до Пятница, Апрель 09, 2021

Events Search

Предстоящие мероприятия

Нет событий

Workshops Handicraft & Enogastronomy