You are here:Home»Discover Cyprus»Rural»Religious Routes»Monasticism - The power of faith (B)
Monasticism - The power of faith (B)
Monasticism - The power of faith (B)

Starting from Lefkosia (Nicosia), and heading west on the way to Orounta, the route passes from Peristerona for a visit at the Monastery of Agios Nikolaos, established under Venetian rule.

Route: Lefkosia - Orounta - Kalopanagiotis - Monastery of Panagia tou Kykkou - Prodromos.

In Kalopanagiotis, visitors can see the Monastery of Agios Ioannis o Lampadistis, which is of incomparable beauty, and although it no longer has monks, is very well preserved.

Monasticism is widely spread in Cyprus and three of the monasteries (Kykkos Monastery, Machairas Monastery and Monastery of Agios Neophytos) are under the jurisdiction of the Patriarch (‘Stavropigiakos’ in Greek). That is, they were established directly by an Emperor of the Byzantine and retain their independence under a special Patriarch document.

Kykkos Monastery is a destination which has a lot to offer like in the case of the other monasteries of this route, whether they are in operation or not.

Monuments: Monastery of Agios Nikolaos, Orounta - Monastery of Agios Ioannis tou Lampadisti, Kalopanagiotis - Kykkos Monastery - Monastery of Trikoukkia, Prodromos - Monastery of Trooditissa, Troodos Square.

Total route length: 153 km.